Our favorite fall and winter stories from The Happy Hollisters!

The holiday season offers children a fantastic opportunity to think about what they’re grateful for. Of course, there’s no denying the stars of this time of year are Thanksgiving, Christmas, and New Year’s. But counting one’s blessings and spending time with our nearest and dearest is as important and meaningful.

The holidays are a great time to introduce children to stories that teach them the meaning of gratitude. The Happy Hollisters are wholesome books that feature the perfect measure of good clean fun, fast-paced action, and charming mystery adventure stories. Parents, grandparents, and teachers love these books for their healthy celebration of life in simpler times. Best of all, children enjoy them, too!

Perfect Fall and Winter Stories from The Happy Hollisters Mystery Series for Kids

Autumn reminds us the year is ending. It’s a time to reflect on things that happened over the previous months, big and small! Reading one or two books from The Happy Hollisters classic children’s mystery book series is a lovely way for children and adults alike to reminisce about days gone by while building new traditions.

Here are a few of the titles perfect for boys and girls between the aged 7-12. These youth mystery novels highlight humor and good clean fun. They also remind children there’s more to holiday celebrations than turkey and presents!

The Happy Hollisters at Snowflake Camp

This charming mystery escapade finds the Hollister family traveling to their grandparents’ Canadian winter resort. It isn’t long before the Hollister children get involved in solving a mystery involving their teacher, her brother, and some missing sled dogs. As they unravel the clues, they make time for sledding, skiing, and enjoying the annual Trappers’ Carnival.

This is yet another exciting adventure with this family of happy people whose unity and warmth are felt throughout their unusual experiences, including celebrating the holidays in another country.

The Happy Hollisters and the Trading Post Mystery

The books in The Happy Hollisters series are not interdependent and can be read in any order, although certain elements and characters have recurring roles. This helps hesitant young readers build familiarity and raises their comfort level as they progress through the series. In this book, Sue receives the donkey named Domingo she was promised in a previous volume,  The Happy Hollisters at Mystery Mountain. But what are the Hollister kids to make of the mysterious note signed by Y.I.F. and attached to Domingo’s halter?

The children research how to take care of the new arrival. They learn donkeys enjoy eating carrots, apples, bananas, and dried sugar beet pulp, but should never be fed chicken feed, bread, or pellet pet food!

The Happy Hollisters and the Indian Treasure

Another exciting adventure awaits the Hollisters through their new friend, Indy Roades. Indy is a Yumatan Indian and former baseball player who works for Mr. Hollister. He shares stories with the children about his pueblo in the mountains of New Mexico and his tribe’s lost turquoise mine.

In this tale, the Hollister family travels to New Mexico so that Mr. Hollister can buy some Yumatan articles for this shop, the Trading Post. Following their exciting journey by plane and rented school bus, the entire clan arrives among the friendly Yumatans. The Hollister children soon join in the games and festivals taking place. Indy’s niece and nephew, Blue Feather and Red Feather, teach them how to use a bow and arrow and ride bareback on pinto ponies. But best of all, they foil the robbers who’ve stolen the goods Mr. Hollister came to buy. They also discover a clue to the buried mine!

This mystery adventure is an ideal tale about gratitude. The Hollister kids help the Yumatan tribe regain its happiness and prosperity and happiness, and the grateful Yumatans give them a meaningful gift in return.

The Happy Hollisters and the Mystery of the Totem Faces

This enjoyable story also includes a Native American theme. It finds the Hollister family traveling to Alaska with their two cousins, Jean and Teddy, and their Uncle Russ. Uncle Russ is a commercial artist and cartoonist who’s run out of new ideas for his characters.

Inspired by a gold miner’s replica totem pole they’ve seen, the kids persuade their uncle to make Alaska the background for his new series. On arrival, the children set out to find the missing original pole that holds a clue to a hidden treasure. This exciting mystery tale combines what all the best mystery books for children do: the excitement of solving a mystery and discovering new places and different traditions.

Enjoyable Fall and Winter Stories from The Happy Hollisters

No matter how your family celebrates during this time of the year, it remains a marvelous season to spend quality time with family. Nothing says quality time like reading mystery novels from The Happy Hollisters series! Read-aloud sessions of these books might even become a part of your family’s treasured holiday traditions.

Reading a book with a child is one of life’s most rewarding experiences. And it’s one many parents and grandparents are grateful for. Each charming mystery adventure story is reproduced from the original vintage novels written by Andrew E. Svenson aka Jerry West. They’re all filled with family-themed storylines and fun adventures every child will enjoy.

Contact us today to learn more about this charming series of books and The Happy Hollisters Book Club membership. While you’re here, be sure to visit the Happy Hollister store to check out our paperbacks, e-books, and our swell t-shirts!